For the love of words

By some twist of fate (certainly unintended) I discovered in the past few years that I could write. Yeah, I could always whip out a literary essay or two and impress a teacher, but it never occurred to me that you could get paid to do such things. Specifically, in my newspaper job, I get paid to write very, very quickly.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t still get the impulse to sit still and stare at a single word all day. How did it get here? And how do a few jumbled letters manage to encompass whole worlds of emotion and meaning? I guess that’s why I immediately loved eighty8words, where the sections are broken down into “nouns,” “verbs” and “pronouns.” No matter how hardboiled a newswoman you pretend to be, the old typewriter aesthetic of her jewelry is sure to reignite that old linguaphiliac flame again.

Published in: on March 3, 2008 at 9:34 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/03/03/for-the-love-of-words/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey! Thanks for the feature! I think it’s so fab when word lovers appreciate my designs!

    You’ve given my dreary Monday a lift!

    xo 88

  2. This is beautiful! Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

