A walk in the woods

What surprised me most about this incredible set of “spring leaves” earrings, by Elisa Shere Jewelry, is that I’ve been thinking of almost this exact image all week.

See, I decided to go for a walk by myself in the woods on Saturday, just as the sun was beginning to go down. Even though I’d been to the place several times, I discovered a new path – one that took me right along side of a large pond in the wildlife refuge. At one point I spotted a heron, just a couple hundred yards away, silhouetted by the setting sun. It was amazing, with the water moving all around it, and I was immediately inspired to make a set of cups about it.

There’s nothing more fun than developing a new design! My immediate reaction was a set of images similar, in many ways, to Elisa’s leaves. But mine will be more controlled, a more still, even pattern. I know what shape I want the cup to be, I can post pictures of it later on. The glaze will be the real question. I want something pale blue, although I’m imagining maybe a hint of spring-green dripping down the rim. Hmmmmm….

Published in: on April 8, 2008 at 8:36 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/04/08/a-walk-in-the-woods/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can see why you were inspired by the heron at sunset. These are two of my favorite things.

  2. Thanks for the feature! These earrings were definitely inspired by walks in the 150 acre park I live across from. It’s truly an urban oasis.


Leave a Reply

