Sneakin’ a peek

When I wrote about my kiln firing last week, someone asked if I had my own studio.

Nope. I work at the Philadelphia Clay Studio! We’ve probably about 80 associate and resident artists, a big gallery and a school for ceramics, all in a old four-story brick building.

We have two huge gas-fueled kilns (which I prefer to electric). The smaller one can hold about 200 pieces, and the big one is several times that! So I usually cooperate with someone else and fire infrequently, when I have enough work saved up!

The downside is that sometimes things don’t go as planned. Like this last firing, which I expected to be finished by last Wednesday. But nope! It got delayed, and won’t be unloaded until later today. So I’m just waiting, patiently.

Ha! As if! I’m not waiting patiently AT ALL! In fact, I cracked that baby open yesterday, and stole two test plates out of it!

I was testing two different black glazes against my amber, and I really like how they turned out! (Sorry the pic isn’t great). Please give me your opinion – the one on the left is matte black, and a glossy black is on the right!

Published in: on June 30, 2008 at 10:47 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/06/30/sneakin-a-peek/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think I like the one on the right. Is there something weird happening with the matte black in the closer left hand corner?

  2. I love your ceramic creations! Your blog is fantastic!!!

  3. I prefer the glossy black.

  4. Yeah… that odd spotting on the left hand plate is really off-putting. I prefer shiny ceramics. Wish I had some cupboard space….

  5. I like them both, but like the glossy the best.
    ~Toni

  6. I’m usually drawn to a matte finish but to my eye the glossy finish compliments the gold better. It’s a beautiful piece.

  7. Glossy black looks deeper, more apealling and chic.
    The matt black looks ” blah ” somehow, there something wierd about it that just looks unapealling.

    I vote glossy!


Leave a Reply

