Impossible Iris

Let me state this for the record: I can’t do this. I have no idea how this is even done.

Joe’s papercuts are so incredibly fine and detailed…I have to remind myself several times that they are simply paper. Definitely not done with the kitchen scissors the way I used to do those snowflake cut-outs when I was a kid! Especially check out his intricate Mayan-inspired design. Unbelievable!

Published in: on July 21, 2008 at 2:28 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/07/21/impossible-iris/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I agree completely Amy! I have a friend on Flickr who works in the same medium and I’m absolutely in awe!!

  2. This went straight on my wishlist! Awe-inspiring!

  3. I love them all. In particular I love the Lupins piece (mine are done blooming). Ok, I am so baffled about HOW he does this…has he hired mini gnomes with teeny tiny scissors to deal with all those delicate corners and thin as hair lines????

    After finishing one of these pieces does he have to check into a padded room to recover??? I would be totally nuts!!!

    Joe, my dear, you have my utmost respect and admiration for you exquisite talent and patience!!

    Amy, thank you for bringing him to our attention…he deserves the limelight!!!

  4. He is amazing. I wrote a feature article about him in my blog several weeks ago…I was totally blown away by his talent.

  5. Yes, such fine craftsmanship. Incredible. Thanks for introducing him.

  6. This is stunning! I am impressed with both the design and the workmanship – well done!


Leave a Reply

