Blown away

After almost a year of puttering around Etsy, admiring beautiful things and exercising incredible restraint, I finally decided to get a real gift for myself. I had saved up a little bit of cash, thanks to the success of my pottery shop this year, and so I got it in my head to buy myself a ring.

Not just any ring. It had to be the perfect ring. Something handcrafted, with an organic feel and an understated, quiet elegance. Something that could survive my sometimes rough adventures, but with a delicate element. Something that would remind me of old friends, and celebrate new beginnings.

Of course, hunting for something when you know exactly what you want isn’t easy. I had pages of “possibilities” bookmarked, and none that quite captured it. Luckily, the search was over in an instant when I found Beth Cyr’s Dandelion Ring. Impressed all around with individual dandelion seeds, this ring has breathtaking details and texture. I love how it reminds me of late summer nights and the promise of new seasons.

It arrived tonight, and was out of the box and on my finger in a moment. I love the weight of it, the snug fit and the way it warms up between my fingers. I’m not sure I’m ever going to be able to take it off!

Published in: on August 4, 2008 at 8:21 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/08/04/blown-away/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awwwww! Great story and what a beautiful way to treat yourself.

  2. Oh that is beautiful, what a lovely gift for yourself!!! 🙂

  3. That is truly an exceptional ring! Gorgeous taste as always Amy!

  4. Your description and expression of love for this special ring really touched me. I do hope you never take it off!!

    My husband put a very special pinky ring on my finger 24 years ago….yup, its still there!!!

    Mary
    “True art is the coming together of heart and hands.”
    http://www.BrushItOn.Etsy.com

  5. Aww, so nice you treated yourself. That ring is stunning!

  6. Beautiful ring, Amy! It is always great to treat oneself now and then! Enjoy!
    Peace,
    Todd in Santa Fe


Leave a Reply

