Great Heights

I learned a new definition for terror today: It’s when the freight elevator in your studio descends about two feet and then comes to a sudden, shaking, nauseating halt. Then the bonehead operating it raises and lowers it another three times, slamming the rickety thing against the same mysterious obstruction again and again, while musing out loud about what part might be broken.

Yeah. I don’t know if stepping onto solid ground has ever made me so happy before.

(Awesome, evocative photo courtesy of GhostGallery!)

Published in: on August 8, 2008 at 5:04 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/08/08/great-heights/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. omg, I know I’m not supposed to laugh, but that is just way too funny!!!! I AM glad you’re ok…take the rest of the week off to recover!!!

  2. Perfect photo to go with your bone jarring description. How do you find them?

  3. From now on I’ll take the stairs

  4. I do not like elevators..never have never will..bridges make me nervous as well.

    I hope you can ride in it again..I think I would move..out of that building..stair ways..can be dangerous as well..with people that lurk around every corner. Carry mace.

    Be careful.

  5. Thank you so much AmyEsther! I’m glad you enjoyed Amanda Graham’s photos…she’s Incredible!!!
    Have an amazing week-
    xo


Leave a Reply

