Super Duper Awesomeness!

I’m pretty sure we all need a pick-me-up after yesterday’s news, so how about trying this on for size: I’m gonna be FAMOUS!!!

Well, no, okay…maybe that’s stretching it a little bit. But close to it!

I book I contributed historical research to was recently selected to be a Starbucks’ Pick in September! The House at Sugar Beach, by Helene Cooper, will hit bookstands this Sept. 3! Here’s a quick summary:

The House at Sugar Beach is an astonishing and moving memoir about growing up in Liberia during a violent civil war. Helene Cooper is the daughter of one of Liberia’s elite families, but after a coup threw her people out of power she moved to the United States, eventually becoming a journalist. In The House at Sugar Beach, Cooper delivers personal memoir, historical perspective, and journalistic reporting in one book that you won’t be able to put down.

And my name is going to be in the acknowledgments section, and I’m going to the book launch party!! I’m soooooo excited!!

Plus I’m so happy for Helene, who has been a great friend and mentor. I would never have even considered a career in journalism if not for her, and she always let me stay in her basement when I needed to!

So hurray! Pop the corks! Make a toast!

(And don’t forget to buy 20 copies on Sept. 3…..!!)

Published in: on August 18, 2008 at 9:56 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/08/18/super-duper-awesomeness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amy – This sounds like a must-read book! I love to read about experiences in a different world than mine. Thanks for sharing and congrats on the kudos.

  2. Absolutely wonderful news Amy and tremendously well deserved!! I’ll have to check out a copy (right after I spend my savings at your shop – I’m almost there…) 🙂

  3. A heartfelt congratulations to Helene Cooper for a published book and, of course, to you for the honor of being included. How exciting and wonderful!!

    I have Sept 3rd marked on my calendar……

    http://www.BrushItOn.Etsy.com or
    http://www.MakeLifeArtistic.com

  4. Woohooooo!!!!! GO AMY!!!!!! My whole little town will read it this September for book club. I can’t wait.
    Kristen

  5. How great! I’ll have to look for the book as it sounds like a good read! Congradulations!!

  6. Amy this is soooooo cool!! I have a couple children’s books in the works . . . . I hope one day to feel that excitement of being published! Looking forward to adding this to my “must read” list!
    Peace!
    Todd in Santa Fe

  7. Congratulations. That is very exciting!!!
    I really enjoy your writing.

  8. I’m going to Starbucks tomorrow! I love you pottery and your writing, so I’m looking forward to a good read. Congratulations!

  9. SO GREAT! I’m going to go to Starbucks today and pick up a copy! Congrats again!

  10. Congratulations Amy!!!!! and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!


Leave a Reply

