Hot Hot Heat

Well, due to some unexpected circumstances (like a sunny and breezy gorgeous day that demanded I be outside) this week’s Writing Critique will get served up on Sunday instead of Saturday.

Until then, I’ll let y’all enjoy a shot of me spraying soda into a kiln at Peter’s Valley this summer. The soda is dissolved in water and vaporizes when it hits the fire – melting onto the sides of pots and creating an amazing textured surface. Inside the hole I’m spraying into, the temperature is around 2300 degrees F!! Hence the huge gloves and the special UV sunglasses…the kiln is burning so hot, looking inside can actually damage your eyes.

Don’t I look badass?

Published in: on August 23, 2008 at 10:17 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/08/23/hot-hot-heat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You most definitely look badass!

  2. Oh yea, you’re badass… Geez, I’d love to look just HALF as good as you being just ordinary, much less badass!!! LOL LOL

    I really wish I knew how to do what you do….sigh.

  3. I hope you show us the finished piece!!

    And, yes you do!

  4. Wow, what a processes and so many steps to the fabulous pieces you create! I honestly don’t know how you do what you do but I admire your talent so much!


Leave a Reply

