Free Handmade Mug Giveaway!

Yay! I’m turning 25!!

And to celebrate, I’m going to send one awesome person one of my handmade porcelain mugs! All you have to do to be entered to win is to post a comment with one fact about the year 1983. It can be historical, personal or pop-culture trivia. I’ll start:

1983 was the year I was born (woot!).

It was the year Michael Jackson broadcast Thriller, and the year that President Ronald Reagan created Martin Luther King Jr. Day on Nov. 2.

1983 also saw the death of master playwright Tennessee Williams and famous blues-man Muddy Waters, as well as the birth of modern pop star Amy Winehouse.

What else ya got?

(My birthday is Sept. 3, and one participant will be selected at random Sept. 4! ALL participants can get 10% off any purchase in my shop this week by writing “Happy Birthday” in the notes to seller! Thanks for making 24 such a great year!)

Published in: on August 30, 2008 at 2:12 am  Comments (55)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/free-handmade-mug-giveaway/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

55 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Birthday! 25 is a very good age.

    As for 1983, Sally K. Ride, 32, was the first US woman astronaut in space as a crew member aboard space shuttle Challenger (June 18).

    Also, because you are in Philly—
    NBA Championship
    Philadelphia 76ers d. LA Lakers (4-0)

  2. Happy Birthday Amy-25 was a wonderful year as I remember!

    In 1983 microsoft word was released and Vanessa Williams was the first afro-american to be crowned Miss America. On a more personal note we moved into the house we live in now, and my father died on Jan3.

    I hope you have a very Happy Birthday!!!

  3. Wow! To be 25 again…:) Happy early Birthday! β™₯
    I found SO many cool things that happened in 1983! Here’s one:

    (September 4) Six men walk underwater across the Sydney Harbor – 82.9 km in 48 hours.

    Walk underwater? Wicked cool! Of course, my movie soaked brain immediately thought of the first POTC LOL

  4. Happy birthday!

    The US government had a plan to build technology to intercept missiles. It was the Star Wars plan.

    Oh, and Tom Brokaw became the lead anchor for NBC Nightly News.

  5. Amy, First of all Happy Birthday!!! 1983 is a year I remember very well. On August 17th I gave birth to my first child a baby girl!! I was hotter than hell that summer, warnings were all over the TV about checking on your neighbors and older seniors in apartments and such. I spent most of the summer on a inner tube out in the Bay under a willow tree πŸ™‚ The nights were sultry and the days were way to hot! Just ask your Mom she should remember the excessive heat πŸ™‚
    Your work at your age is very impressive! My daughter is an artist also, and a free spirit! Enjoy your birthday stay creative and give your mom a huge bear hug!

  6. Hmmmmmm….

    A dozen eggs cost 83 cents.

    and unemployment was the highest since 1941

  7. Hsppy Birthday. 25 is a great age! 1983 was the birth year of Kate Bosworth and Nicky Hilton.

  8. Oh to be 25 again!!!!! Happy Birthday! Hey if I win the mug, I can pick it up in person. πŸ™‚

    1983 fact: Barbara McClintock won the Nobel Peace Prize in Physiology/Medicine for her discovery of mobile genetic elements.

    What that means I do not know. πŸ˜‰

  9. The CD was introduced in 1983…. long live CDs!
    and..
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!

  10. Well thats the year I was born! February 11!
    President Ronald Reagan declared Edisons birthday National Inventors’ Day on my birthday in 1983 πŸ™‚ Edison was born on Feb 11 as well as Burt Reynalds and Leslie Neilson. What a great day!

  11. 1983 UK US – UK Comparison

    3rd September 1983 : A new report highlighting some of the many differences between Great Britain and the United States finds the differences are much wider that many originally thought and range from most American Homes having a Microwave and a Dishwasher, Gas costing $3.00 a gallon in England but only $1.25 in the US. Also that every teenager in the U.S. is taught to drive while in school but in England will have to pay for private lessons costing many hundreds of dollars.

  12. Jannett – My mom always talks about how hot it was that summer! She insisted that my dad go out and buy an air conditioner πŸ™‚

  13. Well, I turned seven in 1983. Guess that doen’t quite count as a momentous event in the scheme of things. How about this one: Pope John Paul XXIII ratified the changes made at the Second Vatican Council.

  14. Oh, PS… in honor of your birthday and because I LOVE your blog I’m featuring it today on my own: http://www.craftingwithcats.blogspot.com

  15. Happy Birthday!I love your pieces…Here is a fun fact:

    January 2 – The musical Annie is performed for the last time after 2,377 shows at the Uris Theater on Broadway, New York City.

  16. Happy Birthday! In 1983, the movie E.T. won best pictures at the Oscars.

    I admire your hard work and all the great blogging that you do! I hope you have a great bday Amy!

  17. oh 1983 interesting year! My sister was a freshman in high school, I was 7 years old and in the 2nd grade with Mrs. Kuhn who didnt think I dressed girlie enough and thought I should wear cute lil tights with cute lil hearts and such on them and told my mom this at a parent teacher conference. Bjorn Borg retired from tennis that january, The Nintendo entertainment System was first realeased in Japan in July, Vanessa Williams became the first African American Miss America those are all i could think of for now…

  18. Happy Birthday!!!

    In 1983 this center was formed
    The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender (LGBT) Community Center is a nonprofit organization serving the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender population of New York City and nearby communities.

    This weekend I still have my blog give-away and then it ends … so come on by!

    ~ Diane Clancy
    http://www.DianeClancy.com/blog
    http://Dianeclancy.com/blog/2008/07/post-500-a-give-away/

  19. Happy Bitthday ! What a fun idea. I would love to win a mug of yours.Thanks

    Joan – sixsisters/fariyfrond.etsy.com

  20. Ooops my fun fact is that my daughter Jenna was born in 1983. Joan πŸ™‚

  21. I turned 38 in 1983. There was a cinema fire in Turin, Italy, which killed 64 people.

  22. Happy birthday Amy!!! I wish that I was 25 again too!!! In 1983 I was a junior in high school. The 80’s were great!

    Billboard’s Top 100 Songs of 1983

    *1 EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE, The Police (A&M) (#1, July)
    *2 BILLIE JEAN, Michael Jackson (Epic) (#1, March)
    *3 FLASHDANCE…WHAT A FEELING, Irene Cara (Casablanca) (#1, May)
    *4 DOWN UNDER, Men At Work (Columbia) (#1, Jan)
    *5 BEAT IT, Michael Jackson (Epic) (#1, April)
    *6 TOTAL ECLIPSE OF THE HEART, Bonnie Tyler (Colimbia) (#1, Oct)
    *7 MANEATER, Daryl Hall and John Oates (RCA) (#1, Dec 1982)
    *8 BABY COME TO ME, Patti Austin and James Ingram (Qwest) (#1, Feb)
    *9 MANIAC, Michael Sembello (Casablanca) (#1, Sept)
    *10 SWEET DREAMS (Are Made Of This), The Eurythmics (RCA) (#1, Sept)
    11 DO YOU REALLY WANT TO HURT ME, Culture Club (Virgin) (#2, March)
    12 YOU AND I, Eddie Rabbitt with Crystal Gayle (Elektra) (#7, Feb)
    *13 COME ON EILEEN, Dexy’s Midnight Runner’s (Mercury) (#1, April)
    14 SHAME ON THE MOON, Bob Segar and the Silver Bullet Band (Capitol) (#2, Feb)
    15 SHE WORKS HARD FOR THE MONEY, Donna Summer (Mercury) (#3, Aug)
    16 NEVER GONNA LET YOU GO, Sergio Mendes (A&M) (#4, July)
    17 HUNGRY LIKE THE WOLF, Duran Duran (Capitol) (#3, March)
    *18 LET’S DANCE, David Bowie (EMI-America) (#1, May)
    19 TWILIGHT ZONE, Golden Earring (21 Records) (#10, March)
    20 I KNOW THERE’S SOMETHING GOING ON, Frida (Atlantic) (#13, March)
    21 JEOPARDY, The Greg Kihn Band (Beserkley) (#2, May)
    22 ELECTRIC AVENUE, Eddy Grant (Portrait/Ice) (#2, July)
    23 SHE BLINDED ME WITH SCIENCE, Thomas Dolby (Capitol) (#5, May)
    *24 AFRICA, Toto (Columbia) (#1, Feb)
    25 LITTLE RED CORVETTE, Prince (Warner Brothers) (#6, May)
    26 BACK ON THE CHAIN GANG, The Pretenders (Sire) (#5, March)
    *27 UP WHERE WE BELONG, Joe Cocker and Jennifer Warnes (Island) (#1, Nov 1982)
    28 MR. ROBOTO, Styx (A&M) (#3, April)
    29 YOU ARE, Lionel Richie (Motown) (#4, March)
    30 DER KOMMISAR, After The Fire (Epic) (#5, April)
    31 PUTTIN’ ON THE RITZ, Taco (RCA) (#4, Sept)
    32 SEXUAL HEALING, Marvin Gaye (Columbia) (#3, Jan)
    33 (Keep Feelin’) FASCINATION, The Human League (A&M) (#8, Aug)
    34 TIME, Culture Club (Virgin) (#2, June)
    35 THE SAFETY DANCE, Men Without Hats (Backstreet) (#3, Sept)
    *36 MICKEY, Toni Basil (Chysalis) (#1, Dec 1982)
    37 YOU CAN’T HURRY LOVE, Phil Collins (Atlantic) (#10, Feb)
    38 SEPERATE WAYS (Worlds Apart), Journey (Columbia) (#8, March)
    39 ONE ON ONE, Daryl Hall and John Oates (RCA) (#7, April)
    40 WE’VE GOT TONIGHT, Kenny Rogers and Sheena Easton (Liberty) (#6, March)
    41 1999, Prince (Warner Brothers) (#12, July)
    42 STRAY CAT STRUT, The Stray Cats (EMI-America) (#3, Feb)
    43 ALLENTOWN, Billy Joel (Columbia) (#17, Feb)
    44 STAND BACK, Stevie Nicks (Modern) (#5, Aug)
    *45 TELL HER ABOUT IT, Billy Joel (Columbia) (#1, Sept)
    46 ALWAYS SOMETHING THERE TO REMIND ME, Naked Eyes (EMI-America) (#8, June)
    *47 TRULY, Lionel Richie (Motown) (#1, Nov 1982)
    48 DIRTY LAUNDRY, Don Henley (Asylum) (#3, Jan)
    49 THE GIRL IS MINE, Michael Jackson and Paul McCartney (Epic) (#2, Jan)
    50 TOO SHY, Kajagoogoo (EMI-America) (#5, July)
    51 GOODY TWO SHOES, Adam Ant (Epic) (#12, Feb)
    52 ROCK THE CASBAH, The Clash (Epic) (#8, Jan)
    53 OUR HOUSE, Madness (Geffen) (#7, July)
    54 OVERKILL, Men At Work (Columbia) (#3, June)
    55 IS THERE SOMETHING I SHOULD KNOW, Duran Duran (Capitol) (#4, Aug)
    56 GLORIA, Laura Branigan (Atlantic) (#2, Dec 1982)
    57 AFFAIR OF THE HEART, Rick Springfield (RCA) (#9, June)
    58 SHE’S A BEAUTY, The Tubes (Capitol) (#10, July)
    59 SOLITAIRE, Laura Branigan (Atlantic) (#7, May)
    60 DON’T LET IT END, Styx (A&M) (#6, July)
    61 HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO LIVE WITHOUT YOU, Laura Branigan (Atlantic) (#12, Oct)
    62 CHINA GIRL, David Bowie (EMI-America) (#10, Aug)
    63 COME DANCING, The Kinks (Arista) (#6, July)
    64 PROMISES, PROMISES, Naked Eyes (EMI-America) (#11, Oct)
    65 THE OTHER GUY, The Little River Band (Capitol) (#11, Feb)
    66 MAKING LOVE OUT OF NOTHING AT ALL, Air Supply (Arista) (#2, Oct)
    67 FAMILY MAN, Daryl Hall and John Oates (RCA) (#6, June)
    68 WANNA BE STARTING SOMETHING, Michael Jackson (Epic) (#5, July)
    69 I WON’T HOLD YOU BACK, Toto (Columbia) (#10, May)
    70 ALL RIGHT, Christopher Cross (Warner Brothers) (#12, March)
    71 STRAIGHT FROM THE HEART, Bryan Adams (A&M) (#10, May)
    72 HEART TO HEART, Kenny Loggins (Columbia) (#15, Jan)
    73 MY LOVE, Lionel Richie (Motown) (#5, June)
    74 I’M STILL STANDING, Elton John (Geffen) (#12, July)
    75 HOT GIRLS IN LOVE Loverboy (Columbia) (#11, Aug)
    76 IT’S A MISTAKE, Men At Work (Columbia) (#6, Aug)
    77 I’LL TUMBLE 4 YA, Culture Club (Virgin) (#9, Aug)
    78 ALL THIS LOVE, DeBarge (Gordy(#17, July)
    79 YOUR LOVE IS DRIVING ME CRAZY, Sammy Hagar (Geffen) (#13, Feb)
    80 HEARTBREAKER, Dionne Warwick (Arista) (#10, Jan)
    81 FAITHFULLY, Journey (Columbia) (#12, June)
    82 STEPPIN’ OUT, Joe Jackson (A&M) (#6, Dec 1982)
    83 TAKE ME TO HEART, Quarterflash (Geffen) (#14, Aug)
    84 SHE’S SEXY + 17, The Stray Cats (EMI-America) (#5, Oct)
    85 TRY AGAIN, Champaign (Columbia) (#23, June)
    86 DEAD GIVEAWAY, Shalamar (Solar) (#22, Sept)
    87 LAWYERS IN LOVE, Jackson Browne (Asylum) (#13, Sept)
    88 WHAT ABOUT ME, Moving Pictures (Network) (#29, Feb)
    89 HUMAN NATURE, Michael Jackson (Epic) (#7, Sept)
    90 PHOTOGRAPH, Def Leppard (Mercury) (#12, May)
    91 PASS THE DUTCHIE, Musical Youth (MCA) (#10, Feb)
    92 TRUE, Spandau Ballet (Chrysalis) (#4, Oct)
    93 FAR FROM OVER, Frank Stallone (RSO) (#10, Oct)
    94 I’VE GOT A ROCK ‘N’ ROLL HEART, Eric Clapton (Duck) (#18, March)
    95 IT MIGHT BE YOU, Stephen Bishop (Warner Brothers) (#25, May)
    96 TONIGHT I CELEBRATE MY LOVE, Peabo Bryson and Roberta Flack (Atlantic) (#16, Nov)
    97 YOU GOT LUCKY, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers (Backstreet) (#20, Jan)
    98 DON’T CRY, Asia (Geffen) (#10, Sept)
    99 BREAKING US IN TWO, Joe Jackson (A&M) (#18, March)
    100 FALL IN LOVE WITH ME, Earth, Wind, and Fire (Columbia) (#17, March)

  23. hi amy,

    happy 25th!!! yes, to be that age again…

    let’s see, david bowie came out with his “let’s dance” video on mtv that year! i even saw him in concert too when he came to chicago, but i think that it was in 1984. can’t remember exactly…

    have a super awesome birthday! i remember when i turned 25, it was a very big deal!

    πŸ™‚ mary ann xo

  24. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Love your work, best wishes for a prosperous year- don’t forget to give your mom a mug, a hug, and a thankyou, too!

  25. Return of the Jedi was released in 1983. Jeez, I feel so old now πŸ™‚

  26. Love your blog. Hope you have a fabulous birthday! I was also a 1983 baby (June 10). 1983 was also the year The Police released the Syncronicity album.

  27. I was also born in 1983! The day of my birth (yeah I dont know why I know this) Africa by Toto was the number one hit. Happy Birthday!

  28. Happy Birthday!!! I LOVE your pottery! πŸ™‚ Kellogs introduced Crispix cereal in 1983!

  29. On September 3, 1983, Sailor Jenny Turned 6.

    I also got to see the Nutcracker by the Boston Ballet with my Aunt and Uncle that year. Woot!

  30. “Every Breath You Take” by the Police was the number 1 song in 1983.

  31. Happy Birthday!

    On September 3, 1983, I was doing the same thing as your mother; giving birth! You have the same birthday as my son!

    How does it feel to be a quarter of a century old???

    LOL! Don’t fret, you have the best years of your life to look forward to.

    Best Wishes

    ~~ Tanya

  32. McDonald’s introduces the McNugget. And the rest is McHistory. πŸ™‚

    Happy Birthday early!

  33. Happy Birthday Fellow Amy! Congrats on the big 25! πŸ™‚ I hope all your birthday wishes come true!

  34. I just want to wish you a very Happy Birthday…may your day be filled with inner peace and outward joy!!

    Well, there are many many historical facts already posted so I’m not even going to go there!!

    In 1983, I was trying to survive the stifling heat and survive a very difficult time in my life. My metal was most assuredly tested….and I survived it all. I gave/give thanks for surviving AND for the many blessings bestowed on me through the survival process!!

  35. Woohoo! Happy 25th to another awesome Amy!!

    In 1983, I was almost 2 1/2 years old. I think my dad took me cross country skiing for the first time (I was in a backpack, he did the skiing).

    Of course, Hooters also opened their 1st franchise..know you’re excited by that!

    Enjoy your day!!

  36. On September 3, 1983, “Casablanca” a TV series based on the movie of the same name, aired it’s fifth and final episode. It was entitled “Divorce, Casablanca Style.”

    Happy Birthday!!!

  37. The summer of 1983 I was in Honduras on an 8 week mission trip. I received a letter from my parents notifying me that they had moved and we would be living in Rochester, NY instead of Houston, TX. I should be glad they let me know I guess. I started my sophomore year of high school that fall.
    -Elizabeth

  38. *The A-Team made its television debut in 1983. “I pity the fool…”

    *President Ronald Reagan signed a bill in November 1983 creating Martin Luther King, Jr. day.

  39. Wow…off the top of my head, 1983 was the year I was married. Luckily, 1993 was the year I was divorced πŸ˜‰

    Happy Birthday!

  40. Happy Birthday!!! That list of top songs brings back a lot of memories. I remember seeing Terms of Endearment. Still makes my teary eyed!!
    Peace!
    Todd in Santa Fe

  41. Too funny…I’m actually watching/listening to VH1classic and it all 80s music…

    My son was a terrible two
    I was running the CG equipment for our video production crew
    I would be turning 25 in October (that certainly gives it all away…lol)
    Annie the musical was performed for the last time that year on broadway
    Dennis Wilson of the Beach boys drowned

    Have a “totally” Happy Birthday!

  42. 125 million people tune in to watch the last episode of M*A*S*H (Which lisa and i watched last night) and
    Joan Miro, Spanish surrealist painter dies
    Buckminster Fuller, American engineer and architect dies

  43. In 1983 I had just moved to Texas. It was quite the culture shock as people stood a lot further away from each other when talking. It took me a while to catch onto this fact. I kept thinking I had body odor or bad breath because people would take a step or two backward when I was talking with them. lol!

    The other thing (not so funny) that happened in 1983 was the bombing of the US Embassy in Beirut.

    Here are some facts from http://www.beirut-memorial.org/history/embassy.html

    It occurred at about 1300 (1:00 pm Lebanon Time).

    It was carried out by a terrorist driving a van, reportedly stolen from the Embassy in June 1982.

    The van carried a 2,000-pound load of explosives, tearing through the front portion of the seven (7) story building.

    Most of the victims were at lunch and were killed by the collapsing building.

    Killed 63 occupants of the building, 17 of whom were Americans.

    One Marine was killed – Corporal Robert V. McMaugh, an embassy guard.

    One journalist was killed – Janet Lee Stevens.

    Several State Department officials were killed, including three USAID employees.

    The entire U.S. Central Intelligence Agency Middle East contingent were killed.

    Several Army trainers were killed.

  44. Yay!! Happy 25th Birthday!!

    Interesting (and silly) things….
    ~Microsoft Word is first released.
    ~McDonald’s introduces the McNugget.
    ~Swatch introduces their first watches.
    ~Motorola introduced 1st mobile phones to the public.
    ~Gallon of gas was 83Β’

    Other people that were born the same year as you….
    ~Kate Bosworth
    ~Carrie Underwood
    ~Michelle Branch
    ~William Hung

  45. Happy 25th Birthday! Here is my interesting fact for the year 1983. In 1983, the worlds population was estimated at 4.72 billion. According to wikipedia, as of July of 2008, the world’s population now sits at just over 6.684 billion. That’s an increase of almost 2 billion people in only 25 years!!

  46. In 1983 my parents were married! This is such a cool contest and amazing prize. I would be so thrilled to win. Happy birthday! I hope it’s a great one =)

  47. In 1983, two bombs exploaded in FRANCE.

  48. In 1983, my parents started to create their family, my oldest brother was conceived (I think… it was probably the end of the year..)

  49. Happy birthday! In 1983, I celebrated my middle school graduation πŸ˜€

  50. I was so proud. In 1983, I moved to AMERICA.

  51. hmmm….i know I posted already, but it’s not here.

    first….I hope you have a wonderful evening and a really special birthday. My fun facts….
    Top Movies of 1983 were
    Return of the Jedi $309,161,884
    Terms of Endearment $108,423,489
    Flashdance $94,900,000
    Wargames $79,568,000

  52. In 1993 right about this time, I was just starting my Freshman year of High School.

    Happy Birthday, Amy!

  53. That is, I started High School in 1983, not 1993. oops!
    (I think that is the year I had my first typing class, too, on actual typewriters, not a computer)

  54. The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1983 was given to Barbara McClintock
    “for her discovery of mobile genetic elements”

  55. well darn. i missed it by one day. oh well.

    happy belated birthday!

    (in 1983, i was in the 3rd grade. that’s some personal 1983 trivia for you).


Leave a Reply

