Totally Baked

So, some of you sharp-eyed people out there may have noticed that there were lots of serving and casserole dishes in my last kiln firing, but they have yet to appear in my Etsy shop.

Well, there’s a reason.

I know you’re probably thinking “Why, Amy, how could you have had time to post them, with all the other crazy things in you daily schedule?” Well, that’s true. But there’s also a little more to it than that.

I was actually waiting for a chance to test-bake with one of them, because I’ve never used this porcelain in a conventional oven before. And while this clay can withstand temperatures of 2400 degrees plus, the oven is a little different. Cooking requires the clay to gain and lose degrees at high rates of speed – even a 400 degree oven can shatter a cold ceramic dish simply by the sudden heat expansion.

But I’m very happy to say that my clay survived the test (and produced a scrumptious cheesy tex-mex cassarole) and so they are ready to go on sale! I still would caution buyers not to preheat the oven – start the dish in there when the oven is cold, and let them warm together, gradually.

And let me just say, I have discovered that there’s nothing I find so satisfying as cooking up a meal in one of my homemade dishes and serving it out in a wheel-thown bowl. And, of course, who could resist a little guacamole on the side?

Published in: on October 12, 2008 at 8:37 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/10/12/totally-baked/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your dishes are so beautiful…they look delicious even WITHOUT the food!

    I’m saving up, sooooooo someday (she says while coveting the ceramic bead)!!

    Mary of Brush It On

  2. Just love love love seeing the food in the work…
    Talented.

  3. Gorgeous photos of some very beautiful items.
    Your pottery makes that food look soooo good and it’s making me very hungry 🙂

  4. Wow – georgous! Both the dish and the dish in it! Ha! You take fab pics.

  5. What a lovely amber celadon! I love your surface designs and how the glaze nestles itself into all the grooves and crannies. Well done! BTW, I live in PA too 😉 Have you ever thought of attending art fairs? State College has two great festivals the weekend after the Fourth of July, Central Pennsylvania Arts Festival, and the People’s Choice Festival. I think that you could do well at the Central Pennsylvania Arts Festival.

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

