Scents of Paradise

Alright. For those of you who read my blog but are still not convinced that great writing can help increase your sales, let me draw your attention to exhibit #1: Wiggle Perfumes and Sundries.

Now, to convince me to buy a scent online, you need to write the hell out of that description. Boy was I impressed to see that Wiggle does all that and more. Within minutes of coming to her shop, I was slowly clicking through every item (in order), devouring every beautiful picture and sensuous write-up. And the more time I spent, the more my mind slipped from “should I buy one?” to “which one should I buy?”

Let me give you a taste, from her pitch for her Speakeasy Vanilla:

I’m not ususally a vanilla person. It’s such a classic, feminine, and decadently sexy scent, I’ve always really wanted to like it…but just couldn’t. Well, I’ve fixed that problem! My Speakeasy Vanilla is another thing altogether, not cloying or overly precious. This vanilla does not wear pigtails. It does not have a “daddy’s little girl” lisence plate holder. This vanilla is a grown ass woman who spent a hot, tipsy day in the kitchen, rocking out to Etta James in heels, perfecting her creme brulee. Or something like that…

This fragrance opens up with a bright, intoxicating bourbon vanilla scent then mellows into a softer, creamy vanilla. To balance the sweetness, I’ve added sultry amber and smokey frankincense. On the very bottom is a delicately floral white musk, and if you’re very sharp you may catch the tiny hint of bay rum lurking in the mix.

Oh, and did I mention she sells samples for just $1? This woman is a marketing genius! I just ordered a sample of her Jasmine Verbena, so I’ll be sure to let you know how it is!

Published in: on October 13, 2008 at 8:23 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/10/13/scents-of-paradise/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m not a perfume person myself due to allegies but gosh darn it! This description does make me want to run out and buy a sample to get a sniff. So does the photo.

  2. The photo, the description…who wouldn’t want to buy something??? Now this is someone who knows how to market and sell!!

    Sorry I can’t write more….I’m off to look at and read about all her other scents!!

    Mary of Brush It On

  3. Wow! What a find!

  4. You’re right. That is one kick-ass description. I’m going to take notes 🙂

  5. wow – I’m sitting here with my mouth open reading that description…I want some!

    *running off to check out her shop*


Leave a Reply

