Stop, drop and roll

Imagine what would happen if you heated something up to about 1800 degrees, pulled it out still glowing hot, and tossed that sucker into a container filled with sawdust, newspaper and other combustables.

My first guess would have been that you would get something resembling a lump of coal, about good for stuffing the Christmas stockings of annoying coworkers.

But, no. The process is called Raku, and with the right kind of clay and the right kind of glazes, the results are simply amazing. Don’t believe me? Check out the work of Marianne “MAK” Kasparian, of MAKUstudio. She’s another member of the infamous Etsy Mud Team, and her creations never fail to impress me. I’m lucky enough to have a piece of hers myself, so I can testify to how gorgeous they are in person!

Simply stunning.

Published in: on November 14, 2008 at 5:50 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/11/14/stop-drop-and-roll/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh I just love Raku. Can’t begin to imagine the process although I’ve heard it described as you did above but the end result it almost other-worldly. Gorgeous!

  2. I’M BAAAAAACK!!!!! Yes, Raku is some of the most beautiful stuff in the entire world. My husband is so intrigued that he is determined to give it a try. I will, of course, be his willing partner is this newest adventure of exploration and learning.

    I’ll let you know how it turns out (as long as we don’t burn down the house, garage, or shed!!!). I’d prefer that Marianne come to our house to supervise.

    Mary of Brush It On

  3. I do love raku beads. I have a few I just can’t quite part with.

  4. Thank you so much for featuring my raku pendant!!! I just love your writing! SO happy that you like your MAKUstudio raku pendant!!!


Leave a Reply

