Time Management

I woke up early this morning, and for the first time in a while, felt charged up to hit the gym. I whipped on some clothes and grabbed my iPod. But as I walked past a pile of dirty dishes in the sink, I suddenly deflated.

Sometimes it’s tough to simply figure out the logistics of any given day. It used to be easier when I was in school… I could usually divide the day into school work, play and chores, and portion time accordingly.

Now I find myself juggling a full time job, apartment, business, art, boyfriend, continuing ed classes and lord knows what else. Even days when I feel on top of it, those dirty dishes or a surprise bill in the mail can sneak up and knock the wind out of my sails.

Luckily, I’ve got two lazy cats to remind me that in the end…. It’s not really going to hurt anyone if the dishes sit until the evening. If I can’t post new work on my site today, what’s the worst that can happen? I miss a sale? And if I don’t have time to call the boyfriend… Well, he’s got my number, too.

I wish I had about 50 of Allegrae’s “Deadlines Amuse Me” buttons. I would pretty much pin them up everywhere, not to mention hand them out to all my friends at the newspaper.

So basically, I’m saying that the best way to deal with stress is…. Buttons! Yes! (Oh, and cats!)

Published in: on December 4, 2008 at 1:06 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/12/04/time-management/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh so true, there’s always going to be one more thing to do. Fortunately we share our world of chores with cats and great buttons. Fabulous post my friend♥

  2. Great post….timely too!! Pick and choose the things that are of utmost importance to your job, health (includes bills), and art….those deserve deadlines…all the rest is just stuff that comes along or happens!!

    I have yet to meet a sink full of dishes that deserves a second thought much less a button!!

    Mary of Brush It On

  3. Right on! cats and witticism save the day every time. Awoke with three draped across me this morning as they’re missing the other human. Me too!

  4. Great idea. The cats and the buttons 🙂
    And congrats on being featured in the Storque. I hope you brings you many happy sales.

  5. So true! (I currently have dishes in the sink & I won’t be doing them till this evening!)
    Just don’t go putting the buttons on the cats, they won’t get it.


Leave a Reply

