Taking chances

I added more new work today!

And as a follow-up to the post earlier this week about being my own worst critic, I want to add that my wonderfully supportive and encouraging boyfriend has been urging me to take a chance and ask if I can sell my work in the gallery shop my studio is affiliated with.

I should mention that my studio is quite large, with ceramics artists of all types and levels, as well as a ceramics school (where I work in exchange for studio space), residencies and a space for visiting artists from around the world. We also have a top class gallery where some of the best ceramic artists in the country show their work. I’ve been totally intimidated to ask if they would consider my work for the gallery shop, but I think I’m going to make it my big new year’s resolution. Wish me luck.

He’s also been encouraging me to take a chance in raising the prices for some of my pieces to better match the time and effort I spend on creating, decorating and firing them (remember this ordeal?). So I believe prices will increase a few dollars after the holidays. I want to give you all a heads up, in case you have your eye on something!

Published in: on December 10, 2008 at 7:59 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2008/12/10/taking-chances/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh you should definitely go for the gallery gig Amy!!

  2. Ok Amy, so here it is:
    If you ask, the answer MIGHT be no.
    If you Don’t ask, the answer IS no.

    Live your life, take a chance, allow your light to shine.

    Yup, you really do need to give your pieces a raise!!

    Keep us posted.

    Mary of Brush It On

  3. Thanks for all the encouragement! After the new year I think I’m going to sit down and really put some effort into some pieces so I have something really good to bring them. There’s also a chance I can enter in one of their juried shows, in addition to the shop…

  4. You go, girl!

    And kudos to the BF for thinking about you in that way.

  5. GOOD FOR YOU Amy!!! Go for it all…..you get into every juried show you can and place your pieces in every shop you can. I understand the hesitation because it happens to me as well. Then, I wake up and follow my own advice…LOL LOL AND GUESS WHAT??? I have made it into some very difficult shows and have pieces in galleries I just knew would never say yes!!!

    So………you go girl!!!!!

    Mary of Brush It On

  6. I agree. Go for it! And please keep us posted.

    Thanks for the heads up on the price increases. Yikes!

    p.s. Your boyfriend sounds like a keeper 🙂

  7. Well done, your work is stunning!


Leave a Reply

