Rockin’ Out in 2009

bowl4-music-front-shot

Well, I’d give the espresso mousse a 10+ for flavor and a 6 for texture…. which is my fault, not the fault of the recipe. I probably could have strained it better, and I definitely could have pulled it out the oven a little sooner! But no matter. It was delicious.

So was the delectable spice-rubbed pork chops the boyfriend made, on a bed of thin-sliced baked sweet potato, seasoned with chilies and sea salt. And of course, topped with a matchstick salad of jicama, mango, bell peppers and chili flakes. YUM! It sure is nice dating a chef!

So far, 2009 has been pretty great. I had a fantastically relaxing day involving no work of any sort. I spent most the early afternoon in the bathtub, soaking in bubbles until my fingers turned to prunes.

I spent much of the evening downloading music (legally!) to grab some of my favorite tunes of 2008 before they fade out of the regular radio rotation. Just for kicks, here’s a little list of ten modern artists I discovered in 2008 who have put out some really enjoyable albums this year. I’d give actual reviews, but I’m sleepy! So if you’re interested, it’ll be a little surprise to discover. In no particular order:

1. Elbow

(“Grounds for Divorce” is probably my favorite new song this year…)

2. Black Kids

3. MGMT

4. Vampire Weekend
(note: Don’t be fooled by the name, this is some really fun afrobeat indie stuff…if you like Paul Simon’s Graceland, you’ll like Vampire Weekend!)

5. The Low Anthem

6. Lucinda Williams

7. Ingrid Michaelson

8. Fleet Foxes

9. Airborne Toxic Event

10. Ting Tings

Published in: on January 2, 2009 at 2:37 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/01/02/rockin-out-in-2009/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for “sharing” your evening meal with us…yum!!

    Can’t wait to check out the list of musical artists. I’m always up for adding to my favs list. I’m unfamiliar with a number of them, but will certainly listen with an open ear (so to speak).

    Mary of Brush It On

  2. While you’re at it, check out sethaugustus.com.

    He took the Tuvan throatsinging thing and adapted it to a ‘western’ (as in US) style blue-sy sound. Earthy, atmospheric, languid, Captain Beefheart-ish but far more approachable.

    He has a page where you can stream his tunes, but I’m planning to head over to iTunes and grab some.

  3. I’ll be a bit behind the times since those were your 2008 discoveries but hopefully I will work my way through the list before your 2009 list comes out.

    (Maybe it has something to do with you being a writer and all but I found myself triple checking my comment before hitting send – I knew I should have paid more attention in English class!)

  4. Thanks for the music ideas! I’ll definitely check them out.

    ~Toni


Leave a Reply

