Car Adventures – Part II

dscn3918

On Monday night I filled the passenger seat of my car with groceries from Whole Foods, put the key in the ignition and turned.

clickclickclickclickclick…. silence.

clickclickclickclickclick…. silence.

“Arrrrrrrrrgggg!”

I think the thing that makes the sound of a car not starting so awful, is that is never just the sound of a car not starting. It’s like having a moment of pure vision, where you can suddenly see into the future and know that the rest of your night is going to be derailed, that over the next few days you are going to spend god-knows-how-long at the mechanic’s and spend god-knows-how-much money on new parts. I can understand why some people get out and start kicking the tires.

I was able to get the first jump fairly quickly, from an adorable old cop with a cigarette barely hanging between his lips. He made me promise not to tell anyone, since Philly cops aren’t allowed to give jumps anymore.

On the way home the car made ominous noises, with the headlights dimming and engine light flashing every time I came to a red light.

The next morning, I went out in search of the second jump. This time help came from a friendly guy at the gym who had a handheld battery pack, but after several tries he still wasn’t able to get it going.

“That’s your alternator, hon,” he said. “You don’t even got enough juice to get to the garage.”

Thank goodness my dad keeps me registered on his AAA account, and after an hour of reading in the cold car, a mechanic and a tow truck showed up. The mechanic was able to jump it with some super-powerful jolt, and drove slowly behind me to the garage.

Thankfully, it turned out to just be the battery, which was so old it gave up the ghost completely and wouldn’t charge. I read in the cold mechanic’s office for another 40 minutes or so, surrounded by creepy stuffed cats and Michelin tire adverts.

I was out another $150 bucks by the end of the afternoon, but at least I’m on the road again.

For now, anyways…

Published in: on January 7, 2009 at 3:15 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/01/07/car-adventures-part-ii/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, I guess the good news is you’re on the road again, it’s painful though I know. Hope your week goes alot better from here on out.

  2. Yup, periodically you just gotta check those batteries…like in your car, your smoke alarms, and a few others things I’m sure are critical on someone’s list. Glad all is now well and you’re on the road again!!

    Mary of Brush It On

  3. Fingers crossed that’s the end of your car saga for now:)


Leave a Reply

