Chicken without a head

Like most people, I expected to spend Jan. 20 huddled in front of a television, watching the new president take his oaths from the warm comfort of a couch or office.

Well, surprise, surprise. Washington D.C. is predicted to be a balmy 35 degrees on Tuesday and I will be there, with a full set of long underwear, experiencing the crowds first hand and reporting at night from my laptop. No, I don’t have exciting press passes. I will be traveling with students from a poor, underserved school and writing about their experiences on the Mall and watching the the historic moment. We’ll be sleeping on the floor of a church, taking pictures every which-way and uploading them onto my laptop for my newspaper.

I just found out about all this exciting news Monday, so I’m rushing about madly interviewing students, digging for a wool hat and scouting around for an inflatable mattress, among other things. So please excuse me if my blogging is spotty for the next week or so…hopefully I’ll have a chance to post at the church when I get there, but no promises! It’s going to be a crazy time, but hopefully a story I can tell the grandkids someday….

Published in: on January 14, 2009 at 6:17 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/01/14/chicken-without-a-head/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow Amy, what an experience that will be. I hope it’s immensely memorable, not too cold and uncomfortable and creates one of those positive memories where you can say, “Wow, I was there”!

    Wishing you safe travels and an enjoyable time despite the lack of a head right now. 😉

  2. What an honor!! Sleeping in a church is like an indoor bible camp…cheap accommodations. Travelling with a bunch of kids is like being a camp counselor…low pay but good learning experience. Attending this historical inaguration…priceless!!

    I know you will enjoy every single moment. Your adrenaline will help keep you warm as well.

    Another unique experience to put in your book of life.

    Mary of Brush It On
    PS Don’t forget the binoculars!!

  3. Sounds exciting – look forward to hearing about the experience!

  4. Keep us posted. It does sound exciting.

  5. I think a few layers of clothing are in order if you are sleeping on a floor… I can’t wait to read your thoughts on the event. Here in Az several Navajo children were interviewed for NPR about the letters they wrote to Obama and their wishes. It was very interesting.

  6. I look forward to reading about your experience. What a wonderful opportunity. Stay warm!

  7. Wow – that’s great! I can’t wait to read about your experiences.

    My daughter is attending college in DC and not sure if she will simply stay on campus or try to get around town with millions of others.

    The word of advice going around her campus? Bring your own toilet paper!!!! LOL


Leave a Reply

