Shopping and Dropping

My friend and I hit the mall yesterday to pick out a pant suit for me, for some job interviews I hopefully hopefully will get soon. But, in a comedic routine we couldn’t have pulled off better if we practiced, I forgot my purse and she left all her credit cards at home. She only had a debit card with about $4.65 on it.

Still, we managed to make a night of it! We talked the ladies at the food court into selling us just two egg rolls and letting us put in on the card (they wanted a $5 minimum, and didn’t believe we really didn’t have it). We tried on lots of clothes and I picked out a fabulous suit and some work slacks, which we put on layaway. The suit and a complimentary blouse were so incredibly reasonably priced (buy one, get one 50% off, and no sales tax in Delaware), that we even had enough left over to splurge on a cute little black dress for my delayed Valentines date with D. tomorrow night. We’re going to an incredibly delicious Tapas bar (not topless bar, as many of my friends have been joking), called Amada.

cchip-cookie2

Oh, and Mary was asking for my cookie recipe. Here’s a slightly modified version, from the The Great Big Cookie Book, by Hilaire Walden. It’s amazingly simple:

1/2 c Unsalted butter

2/3 c brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/4 flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 c rolled oats (I used pecans this time)

4 oz chopped semisweet chocolate

4 oz chopped white chocolate

1. Preheat oven to 375F and grease two baking sheets. Cream the butter and sugar in a bowl, then add the egg and vanilla and beat well.

2. Sift in the flour and baking soda, fold, and add the oats and chocolate.

3. Spoon the batter onto the baking sheets and bake for about 15-20 minutes (mine only needed about 10)

Published in: on February 26, 2009 at 11:15 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/02/26/shopping-and-dropping/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Even with no money, fun can be had if you’re with a favorite friend! Sorry all the money was forgotten, but so happy it all worked out. The bargains you found sound absolutely Grrrrrreat!!

    I’m sending you lots and lots of good vibes that you will get settled in a new job quickly!

    Oh, I’m glad Mary asked for the cookie recipe and that you generously shared it. As I still have no kitchen, I won’t be able to try it out for awhile, but it will give me something to look forward to. Of course, I could provide someone my address to bake some and send them to me!!! LOL LOL

    Oh yes, have a lovely Valentine Date. You must mention how it went (no, we won’t ask for ALL details…just a few)!

    Mary of Brush It On

  2. Thanks for the recipe!

    You two make a great shopping duo. Sounds like you had a great time.


Leave a Reply

