Something New

greenware-basket1

Well, like I’ve said, I haven’t had as much time in the studio working on my pottery as I would like. But the good news it that what I have done is more experimental and creative than a lot of my other recent work. I’ve been exploring new shapes, new designs and new “solutions” to the puzzles that ceramics puts up in front of me.

One of my new creations is this square bowl with handles…. part casserole dish, part basket. Not really sure what it is, but I think when it’s done, it would look fabulous on a table holding a batch of fresh baked rolls. Yummy!

P.S. Yes, this is thrown on the wheel….

greenware-basket2

Published in: on April 4, 2009 at 8:31 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/04/04/something-new/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh, I just love this casserole basket!! I’m so happy you’re sharing your explorations with us. Sometimes I’m not brave enough to explore (I need to get over that!!).

    Hope you’ll show us the finished product. Can’t wait to see the color(s)…filled with warm freshly baked rolls…yum!

    Mary of Brush It On

  2. That is very cool. I love pottery with handles…don’t know why, but I’m always looking for pieces at art shows.

  3. Those are great handles!

  4. It looks amazing. I can’t wait to see it when it’s finished.

  5. I totally dig handles. One of my favorite handmade serving bowls has handles cut into the sides of it. You can see a top down view here:
    Chicken and potatoes


Leave a Reply

