Spring Cleaning

cupboard-jars

The upside of my failed pumpkin muffins was the realization that I desperately, desperately needed to clean my pantry.

In the true spirit of spring cleaning, I decided to go for the gusto. I filled an Ikea shopping cart with those old style snap-closed, rubber sealed jars and tossed out every single thing that had sat around past its welcome (or ‘use by’ date). I restocked completely, using D.’s 20% discount card at Whole Foods to go nuts in the bulk dry goods section.

Everything is now clean, in lovely glass jars with labels and air-tight seals. Makes me want to just sit a chair in front of the pantry and gaze at its fine loveliness…

Published in: on April 19, 2009 at 10:30 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/spring-cleaning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow! I’m impressed. That is something I really need to do myself but just can’t seem to find the time.

  2. There is nothing more gratifying than seeing the fruits of your labor….whether its cleaning or creating. Your items look so fresh. Nicely done!!

    I sure wish we had an IKEA….I love their stuff!! They are on both coasts but not the middle of the country….bummer!! My new kitchen is close to being completed so I too have to find containers. Although I’m one that likes to touch and feel, I may just have to shop online for what I want. Wish me luck!!

    Mary of Brush It On

  3. Lovely job. Now could you come over and organize my pantry? 🙂
    Thanks for the motivation to get to work!


Leave a Reply

