Samosas?

samosa-filling

What do you do with half a bowl of leftover pea and mint puree?

That was the question I was scratching my head over last night. I tried out a recipe from an awesome new cookbook I got for lamb with a pea and mint topping. It was delish, but I had some odd leftovers.

D. suggested samosas, and that got the gears turning in my brain. Actually, it started an all-evening project.

I mixed up some pastry dough while boiling some potatoes and marinating some chicken in garlic, yogurt, cilantro and Indian spices. The potatoes I fried with some whole cumin and whole mustard seeds (makes them crunchy and delicious!) and the chicken I cooked until the yogurt was almost evaporated, just leaving a moist, flavorful coating.

I wrapped different combinations of chicken, potatoes and peas in little pastry pockets and then baked them until flaky.

They smelled so good coming out of the oven that I burnt my mouth gobbling them down. All I can say is “YUUUUUMMMM!!!”

samosa1

Published in: on April 29, 2009 at 11:15 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/04/29/samosas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yum! I’m impressed over the concept of actually cooking, much less from scratch!

  2. It all looks so delicious and sounds that way from your description. Sometimes I need to be braver than I am and experiment with foods and spices!!

    You can come cook for me anytime you wish…you’ll have free room and board, so the tradeoff will be perfect!! LOL

    Mary of Brush It On

  3. They look absolutely scrummy!!! It’s fun having a go at making up your own recipes isn’t it. Mine have just been stews so far, nothing as clever as yours! I’m thoroughly impressed!!

    Off to raid the pantry now! Feeling rather peckish!

  4. Wow! Did I miss ’em? Are there any left?


Leave a Reply

