Works in Progress

lipstick

Or should I say, lipstick in progress.

For my Adobe Illustrator class my teacher has been giving out some really fun assignments, like asking us to do product “mock-ups.” In this case, he had us try to recreate a photo of a lipstick (right) using illustration tools (left). I’ve gotten this far and I’m a little stuck – not sure how to refine the shadows or get the lipstick sparkly.

But seeing as I had never opened Illustrator in my life before five weeks ago, I think it’s not too shabby…!

Published in: on May 31, 2009 at 7:00 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/05/31/works-in-progress-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] source_ […]

  2. Not shabby at all. I’m very impressed!! Actually, I like what you’ve done so far. If I hadn’t seen the original, I’d most likely suggest to lighten the shadows a little more and then call it a wrap!!!

    Well done!!

    Mary of Brush It On

  3. Generally for effects (like “sparkly”) you need textures or brushes which you can usually download on-line. DeviantArt is a good place for them. I don’t know if your teacher has put restrictions on textures, brushes, etc… Sometimes they do that to make you learn the program basics better.

    You could go the tedious route and do a soft, white brush at a very tiny size and just repeatedly ‘dot’ the lipstick (you want to do that mainly around the highlight you already have. You notice the further away from the light source, the less sparkle).

    Otherwise, good job! Looks pretty awesome. 😀

  4. Thanks for the suggestions Lore! Tonight we did tulips and I learned how to get a bit more refined with the gradient meshes – I’ll post them as soon as I remember to send myself the file.

    I’ll check out DeviantArt sometime and check out the textures – I know I’ll be needing some for our final project. Thanks!

  5. I’d say it’s absolutely perfect! Excellent job!!


Leave a Reply

