Ideas in Progress

flashmockup

Okay, I’m going to need y’all to use your imaginations here.

Above is a quick (very rough) sketch of opening to the Flash website I’m building. But you need to imagine that it is really a photograph of a rolled out slab of clay, decorated with my stamps and with clickable navigation tools in the center.

Is that a stretch? It gets better.

My idea is that the site will open with a ball of raw clay, quickly rolled out into a slab and then decorated with the designs and what will become clickable links. The whole Flash movie will take maybe 3 seconds, so visitors don’t get bored, but I want the whole effect to feel playful, fun and earthy. Of course, each of the nav buttons will link to other pages with browsable images, news updates and links here and to Etsy.

It’s definitely, definitely a big challange. Especially since I have just under five weeks to finish it before the end of class! A lot of the work from here on out is taking photos, actually designing the site in Flash and learning how to program in actionScript and XTML. The process might not make for blog-friendly visuals, but I’ll try to post some updates as I go!

Published in: on August 11, 2009 at 11:29 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/08/11/ideas-in-progress/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] source_ […]

  2. Wow, I didn’t even realize you were taking a class on Flash, cool! I can’t help but mention that I vote for Gumby to appear from the ball of clay, LOL! Sorry, just had to say it. 😉

    I love the idea and think it will be fabulous! I’ve only ever worked in Flash with cartoonish animations so it’ll be fascinating to see you work with photos – best of luck!♥

  3. It all sounds really hard, but I love the idea. So, if the first flash pic is a lump of clay, will the very last image be a piece that is completely finished??

    I can’t wait to see and hear installments of this project. Knowing how creative you are, I know it’s going to be awesome!!

    Mary of Brush It On

  4. Would be cool if you saw the piece pop into a bisqued version, then see the glaze painted across it, then saw it pop into the final version too.
    I dig it.

    • I thought hard about that, Kristin, but I’m afraid that the way the clay shrinks and warps in the kiln will make the pieces look out of alignment in a series of photos, you know? Also, I’m in the process of testing some new glazes, so I’m not sure I want to commit to one look in my website intro.

      Still, it’s tempting. I can always take the photos and not use them – wouldn’t hurt!


Leave a Reply

