Summertime, and the living is easy…

berrybest

While I was in New York last weekend, I had the opportunity to go blueberry picking at this gorgeous vineyard and blueberry farm. My friend and I were probably there less than an hour, but we picked about 8 lbs!

I froze most of the blueberries for the winter, when fresh fruit is hard to come by. But some went straight into a pie with a few delicious red raspberries for flavor. The colors were just too pretty when I combined them – just had to snap a few shots with the new camera!

berryclose

I rarely bake blueberry pie, so I had to look at quite a few recipes to decide how to do the filling. I fell back on an old standard cookbook for me – Moosewood’s Enchanted Broccoli Forest. It called for 3 tbls of flour for four cups of berries, 2 tbls of lemon and 1/4 cup of honey, plus a dash of cinnamon. The pie is still cooling on the stovetop, so I’m not sure how it tastes yet. But it sure looks delicious!

prettypie

Published in: on August 14, 2009 at 6:04 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/08/14/summertime-and-the-living-is-easy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh this looks delicious and what fun you had!

  2. (Waving had frantically)….I want a piece, I want a piece!!!!

    The colors are so beautiful…I can taste the freshness through my mind’s eye. It’s breakfast time for me and this really has my mouth watering.

    Off to get a bowl of cereal. NOOOOOOO, I don’t have any fresh berries to put in the bowl 😦

    Mary of Brush It On


Leave a Reply

