Something new afoot

Remember this bowl? You may not, because I made it all the way back in June 2008. But it’s a favorite of mine, and when I was pondering some new design ideas, it immediately popped into my head. I love the way the soft, earthy brown texture contrasts against the tropical glossy center.

The problem is, these glazes were fired in a special kiln, where compounds of salt and soda are sprayed inside during the hottest point in the process. I did it at a special workshop, but our normal kiln is not equipped for it (or rather, if we did it once, the chemicals would permenantly contaminate every future firing. So you need a kiln dedicated entirely to salt or soda).

So what to do? I consulted my studio’s glazing guru, an old hand with years of pottery experience. With her help, I came up with half a dozen possible glaze recipes. She also suggested spraying the pieces with a water/table salt solution to mimic the type of firing I like.

I finally had a chance to mix up all the glaze tests I need, and I should be able to see the finished products Friday afternoon. I’m super excited, because if I like the results I may be able to serve up a whole new line of work just in time for the holidays…

Published in: on August 20, 2009 at 11:35 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/08/20/something-new-afoot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Go to Source Bookmark It Hide Sites $$('div.d433').each( function(e) { e.visualEffect('slide_up',{duration:0.5}) }); No tags for this post. […]

  2. Wow….this is beautiful (my first time seeing this one). Can’t wait to see how your glaze tests come out. I hope you’re going to ask for a vote on the results!! 🙂

    Mary of Brush It On

  3. This really is a beautiful bowl. I’d love to see some in your shop.


Leave a Reply

