Exciting Build-up

IMG_0111

Thanks for all the great comments on my glaze tests! I’m glad everyone likes the 3% rutile glaze. Now it’s time to whip up a big batch, plus test a couple other glazes that will complement it on the insides of bowls and cups.

In the meantime, I’m watching with excitement as D. prepares for his first big exhibition. He is just in the process of installing a major ceramic installation in a small city park. Hundreds of white porcelain birds will be spiraling down out of the sky, suspended from trees, into the center of the space, where earthy ceramic blooms will be growing out of the ground. The title of the exhibit is “Emergence,” and the official opening will be Friday, Sept. 4 (although he is racing to get most of it up and ready this week). You can see a couple of the birds he made in these pictures my photographer friend took.

I hope to have lots more photos as it is going up and the finished show! If anyone is in Philly that weekend, please let me know, we’re going to be having a party to celebrate, for sure!

IMG_0124

Published in: on August 26, 2009 at 7:46 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/08/26/exciting-build-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How Exciting!!!! Through your description, I can already picture it in my mind’s eye…. can’t wait to see the pictures.

    Here’s wishing D much success with his exhibit!!

    Mary of Brush It On

  2. cool! I’m stuck in the midwest (and how I wish I could leave right about now…), but celebrate it up for me!

  3. […] source_ […]

  4. I hope all goes well. I’d love to see more pics.


Leave a Reply

