Changes

Wow, has it been a couple of weeks? It feels like YEARS!

I am at the precipice of some big changes, and I’ve just got my fingers crossed and I’m going for it. This Monday I gave two-week’s notice at my newspaper job. I finally decided that I had had enough. I won’t go into all the reasons why I’m leaving, but suffice to say that it is a very emotionally draining job.

I picked up part-time work in a little gourmet cheese shop and cafe, walking distance from my apartment and nearly across the street from my studio. My goal is to spend this spring and summer walking outside, rejuvenating and making enough pottery to participate in some of the local art fairs. All my applications for grad school are finished, so hopefully I will be accepted somewhere and can start school in September with new energy and a fresh attitude.

Of course, we’ll be poor – poorer than we are even are now – but I know that D. cooks up some mean rice and bean burritos. We’re not going to starve.

The gorgeous little dandelion pendants above are by Beth Cyr, a wonderful Etsy artist who made the silver dandelion ring I wear every day. I bought the ring a couple years ago, to remind me why I was making some difficult choices at the time. Now I’m thinking about that again, looking at her work and realizing that every one of those decisions were good ones. Hopefully this will turn out just as well!

Published in: on February 12, 2010 at 8:56 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthenightkitchen.wordpress.com/2010/02/12/changes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations!! Change is one of the hardest things to go through. It can also be one of the most rewarding. The opportunity for growth and renewal is boundless and you shall thrive because of your brave decisions!! I am very excited for you and all the good karma I can muster is being sent your direction.

    As always, keep us posted……. 🙂

    Mary of Brush It On

  2. It’s wonderful to hear you’re making these changes and you’re not the first one I’ve heard this from… many others are finally saying enough is enough. Here’s a good friend who did just that back in the Fall of last year… http://www.all-the-wright-stuff.blogspot.com/

    Best of everything to you always!♥

  3. good luck with all your changes and grad school.


Leave a comment